Taking Shape

When I begin working on a new abstract work, I usually start with a single shape. It may be a rectangle, circle or any other geometric configuration. Once that’s placed, I start to work around it by adding additional shapes and line work aiming to create a composition that has both movement and balance. My main object is to compose an image that draws the viewer’s eyes to it. I want to keep those eyes interested to explore the interconnections between the individual parts of the composition. At the same time it’s important that the viewer be aware of the cohesion of the work as a whole.

In addition to the arrangement of all the separate objects, the relationship of colors helps to unify the total effect. For example, the reuse of a particular color in multiple areas or shapes helps to give cohesion to the whole. In these works I reused a palette of colors that I enjoyed working with just a few of weeks ago in a posting which I titled “Gray Matter”. Here’s that palette.

And here’s an example of how it was used.

Using the same palette for these new abstracts, I increased the contrast between light and dark colors and intensified some of the hues (specific colors). I also introduced some solid black to give a bolder impression.

All of the compositions were created with Procreate app for iPad using an Apple pencil.

The black wedges add a boldness to the image.
Notice how similar greens are spread through the image to create cohesion.
The two circles form stationary focal points while the lines and jagged shapes around them create a sense of movement.

Author: Jeff Gold

I'm a retired musician (oboist) now living in Vermont and exploring various avenues of art, urban sketching, life drawing, block printing and digital abstractions.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.